York Cricket Club

Yorkshire Vikings Return to York in 2023

Yorkshire Vikings Return to York in 2023

Hunters to Continue as Main Club Sponsor in 2023


1790 Cricket played on Knavesmire
1830 Richard Letby, Landlord of the Cricketers Arms, Toft Green, joins the club to start 50 years of service as player and officer.
1834 York CC open new ground at Toft Green
1835 Overam bowling introduced to York
1847 First visit of All England XI to Toft Green
1851 Pavilion erected at Toft Green
1860 Cricket match played at frozen River Ouse between Lendal and Scarborough Bridges adjacent to Toft Green Ground
1871 York CC move back to Knavesmire when North Eastern Railway Company erect station on Toft Green
1881 President Sir Joseph Terry promotes new ground at Bootham Crescent, now home to York City Football Club 1932 – York CC move to Wigginton Road
1935 York CC become a member of inaugural Yorkshire Cricket League. They remain one of only four clubs to be in the league since it’s inception (other three are Doncaster Town, Hull and Rotherham Town)
1951 York CC Win the Yorkshire Premier League for the very first time under the captaincy of John Temple
1967 New District Hospital is planned for erection on the Wiggington Road site and York CC move to the Clifton Park Ground in harness with York Rugby Union Football Club to develop on land obtained from the Clifton Hospital
1975 York CC Win The National Club Championship for the First Time under the captaincy of our now President, Clive Robinson
1984 York CC celebrate their Bi-Centenary
2012 York CC Win the National Club Championship for the Second Time under the captaincy of Daniel Woods
2013 York CC win the Yorkshire Premier League title for the seventh consecutive year. Five of the triumphs under the leadership of Marcus Wood with the final two under the captaincy of Daniel Woods.
2015 York CC Win the Yorkshire Premier League for a record fourteenth time
2016 York Cricket Club Join the newly formed Yorkshire Premier League North as part of a huge restructuring of League Cricket in Yorkshire
2019 The Ground at Clifton Park awarded First Class Status as York CC host a 4 day County Championship game Between Yorkshire CCC & Warwickshire CCC
2022 York CC Host a One Day Cup, Roses Match in front of 4,750 spectators at Clifton Park

York Cricket Club Roll Of Honour:

Yorkshire League Champions: 1951, 1970, 1974, 1977, 1988, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 (14 times is the record)

Yorkshire Premier League North Champions: 2017, 2018

Black Sheep Yorkshire Champions Trophy: 2009, 2016, 2017

National Club Champions: 1975, 2012



Get the official club merchandise.


Sponsorship Opportunities

View our sponsors or become one yourself.


Main Sponsor